Restaurant Passion
Bookmark this Site
Rockaway River Barn

Reviews

Trip Advisor
First time here.  Loved the relaxed, laid back atomosphere & decor. Great patio for dining outside on nice evenings. Our watiress was very pleasant and attentive. The mozzarella sticks were very good. The scrod and cordon blue were very good. Only "complaint" were the drinks were a little pricy in my opinion.  Will definitly be back.

Trip Advisor
My family and I went on a Saturday night and were able to seated outside! Drinks and appetizers came out quickly. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Our dinners came out promptly and everything was delicious. Huge portions, we all needed boxes for leftovers. Highly recommend this place.


FaceBook
The Lobster Roll is amazing. Ive had Lobster Roll in Boston which is just about the Lobster Capital of the world. LOL. so I have been pretty spoiled in that department, but The Barn nailed it. should be on the menu all year.

Dining Reward

Overall 5 Food 5 Service 5 Cleanliness 5 Value 5

The perfect place for a business lunch meeting. Great menu and service.

Dining Rewards -

Overall 5 Food 5 Service 3 Cleanliness 5 Value 5
I am a recurring customer at the Rockaway River Barn. My cousin and I go there for lunch constantly. We enjoy the food, the atmosphere and the service. The last time we went there, a World Cup game was on and the service was good. It was not as excellent as it usually is, but we understood because the restaurant was swamped with customers because of the game. Our entire meal was excellent, from our cocktails to our salads. We will definitely be returning to the Rockaway River Barn.

Trip Advisor -

“great buffet”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014
We went for the Sunday Buffet. It was wonderful. Everything we always eat plus a wonderful guy behind the counter making a great omelet. We were very very happily surprised. We just weren't expecting such a great place. We are happy campers and would certainly go back again - even for the hour drive.



Trip Advisor -

“An unexpected surprise”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014
OK, let's get this straight...I was hungry and getting ready for my first drive through Manhattan, NYC (at noon no less) so I decided to eat in New Jersey thinking it would be an industrial park. So I exit I-80 in Rockaway an come right to THE BARN. Great lunch of pretzel crusted chicken strips with cheese sauce dip and it was tasty at a very reasonable price(to say nothing of attentive pleasant service). Looks like a great place to have a beer and watch some sports. The only negative comment is I had to pay a $13.00 toll to cross the Geo. Washington Bridge$&@?#%^=£€¥...after lunch to be allowed into New York....!!!

YELP -
• 1 check-in here 5 STARS 4/13/14
Ok, I took my time and read most of the reviews, so that I knew what was said about the Rockaway River Barn. I used to run a restaurant that was owned by my family, and I have worked in the culinary/hospitality industry for most of my life. These negative comments may have had cause to be placed at the time, but you have to realize that whenever someone has a bad experience, the first thing they do is jump on "Yelp" and post a negative review! How many of us have had a good experience and the first thing we do is say "Damn, that was good. Now, let's go home and take a nap!"?? Not many people who have good experiences jump on Yelp and leave a comment. If you do, good for you! Having said all that, my wife and I tried this place tonight on an absolute whim, and we were astounded at the quality of food, service and ambiance. I give the Rockaway River Barn 5-stars because of the entire package, from start to finish. Keep in mind, everyone can have an off day or two. If you don't like your food, talk to the management. If they don't correct your issue, then do everything you can to let people know about the place and the horrible time you had, if they did correct the issue then realize that maybe it WAS an off night, and go from there. Happy Yelping Everyone!!!!

Trip Advisor -
“Always A Good Time at The Barn”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 NEW
We generally go to the Black River Barn in Randolph, NJ, but this past Saturday evening we choose the newer sister restaurant in Rockaway, We arrived at 7 PM and the place was packed! We were seated in about 30 minutes. The atmosphere is fun and the noise level rises as the crowd increases. The menu is very large and the specials are always so interesting.
I chose the Black Angus burger with seasoned fries, lettuce & tomato. The burger was cooked to my order and was delicious! My fiancee ordered one of the night's specials which had grilled chicken, hot peppers, tomato and rice. The portion was huge and he said it was delicious.
The bar was filled and all tables were busy. Our waitress and bus boys were very efficient and friendly. Dean is one of the owners and he was busy as usual, but still found time to come to our table and visit.
The Barn restaurants are a sure place to get good food, reasonable prices and a good time for all!

“Great Food, Unique Dishes”
Reviewed April 3, 2014
This is a great place to go for some very good simple food at reasonable prices. We sat by the huge fireplace which was nice and cozy. There are many "home made family recipes" on the menu I have not seen elsewhere. Try the Meatball Pizza, it is excellent! Thin crust, crisp and hot right from the brick oven. Home made meatballs. The Greek Salad is HUGE and very good. Full bar with many large flat screen TV's if you are into sports, or news etc. Sunday buffet was a bit pricey but it had a great selection of goodies. Good service if you keep your eyes open for your server. Worth the trip.

Dining Rewards -

Overall 5 Food 4 Service 4 Cleanliness 4 Value 4
Dined 04/03/2014 Dinner $ 1 Person Base Survey Completed 04/08/2014
Good food nice atmosphere

Overall 4 Food 5 Service 4 Cleanliness 4 Value 4

Dined 04/03/2014 Lunch $$ 2 People Base Survey Completed 04/08/2014
Excellent salad and pastrami sandwich followed by a scrumptious dessert!

Overall 5 Food 4 Service 5 Cleanliness 5 Value 5
Dined 04/04/2014 Dinner $$$ 4 People Base Survey Completed 04/08/2014
The Barn never ceases to do a great job. This is a large place with a big rectangular bar area in the middle. TV's abound, and in the winter they often have a raging fire the fireplace. My onion soup was okay, the stuffed clams were okay. My red snapper Veracruz was outstanding. The large filet was perfectly prepared and the toppings added the proper zest to the dish. The other entrees were very much enjoyed. Service was attentive and professional.

Overall 4 Food 4 Service 5 Cleanliness 5 Value 4
Dined 04/01/2014 Lunch $ 1 Person Base Survey Completed 04/07/2014
Sat at bar area for lunch. Had steak and cheese which was quite good and very large. Bartender was attentive and gave me advice on food selection. Would definitely go back.

Overall 5 Food 5 Service 5 Cleanliness 4 Value 5
Dined 03/28/2014 Dinner $$ 2 People Base Survey Completed 04/02/2014
Wonderful menu

Trip Advisor -
“Cozy meal for a cold day”
Reviewed January 2, 2014
Had a surprisingly good lunch here on New Year's Day with a friend. Got to sit in the 'front' dining room as opposed to the bar area, so it was a little quieter. I had the macaroni and cheese with chorizo--billed as an appetizer yet it was almost entre sized. Super delicious :)) and I am picky about pasta dishes!! My friend had the angus hamburger which she loved. Very nice house pinot grigio. This place may be known for its burgers and pizzas, but if you're a soup nut, you'll be impressed at their creations. I've been here several times, had a variety of soups which were all outstanding. Yesterday's was homemade chicken noodle. Yum. Look forward to going back here. Visited January 2014

“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 NEW
This restaurant is only 5 minutes away, so we eat here a lot. Very casual, has a real wood burning fireplace, very cozy. The food is generally good, not great, typical American fare. We have enjoyed the Sunday brunch, which has a large variety and the food is always replenished regularly. The bar tenders and wait staff have always been friendly and helpful. They own three other restaurants in Morris County, Cinders and the Black River Barn are both very good, haven't been to the third which is primarily a pizza place I believe.

Via Email
Hi Nancy
Our party was a success all around. The food was a perfect balance for all taste buds and the service was terrific. We appreciate the extra effort put forth
by Chef Steve in creating the menu and by you in putting a lovely venue together in that part of the restaurant.
I believe everyone who attended from the corporate office walked away with a
good impression of what The Rockaway Barn is able to do when hosting a large
group. And, most important, our guests left happy :)
Warm regards,
Marcia

Trip Advisor

“Baby Baptism Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 NEW
We came here for brunch once, which was excellent, and decided to have our newborn's baptism here. They had so many different party options available - brunch, cocktail hour, family style, buffets, etc. We chose one of their buffet options. They were extremely accommodating to changes and additions/substitutions we wanted to make to the menu. There was plenty of food and we got a ton of great feedback from those that attended. The price we paid was the best value out of the 6 or 7 other places we considered before booking. I would book another party here in a heart beat!

Trip Advisor

“Excellent place for a casual meal”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 NEW
Living locally, we are frequent patrons of the Rockaway River Barn. Extensive menu with seasonal additions so there is always something new to try. From burgers, sandwiches and pizza to salads and dinner choices, I always have a hard time choosing. Even when crowded, service is prompt, courteous and helpful. With the wait staff working in tandem, it's never an issue to stop any of the staff with a quick request. They all work together exceptionally well. We love the room to the left of the entrance with the fireplace as it is somewhat quieter than the TV-rich room to the right which also has the live entertainment. The outdoor patio that was installed this summer is a fantastic addition. We have also been to the Black River Barn which we also love with its indoor fireplace and outdoor deck seating on a lake. Its great to have a successful new restaurant in Rockaway.

Email
Good afternoon Nancy. I wanted to send a thank you to your staff for your service on Sunday afternoon. Our bus broke down near your restaurant and we thought it a good time for a late lunch and early supper. I can’t imagine what your staff thought with 50 people coming through your doors. Not only did all staff come with ‘all hands on deck’ but they were courteous and fast on top of the food being great. I think you even found a jacket left by one of our boys which I believe is in the process of being sent back our way. We did have a bit of a bill mishap with our children not sitting with their parents and some bills getting crisscrossed, but all was resolved. On behalf of our team (from Ottawa, Canada) ‘The Ottawa Golden Knights’ say THANK YOU
Thanks again
Debbie MacLaurin


From Dining Rewards:


Overall 4 Food 4 Service 4 Cleanliness 4 Value 4
Dined 11/23/2013 Lunch $$ 4 People Base Survey Completed 12/02/2013
It was excellent. Very accommodating.

Overall 5 Food 5 Service 5 Cleanliness 5 Value 5
Dined 11/21/2013 Other $$$ 6+ People Base Survey Completed 11/25/2013
RRB has something for everyone

Dined 11/01/2013 Lunch $$  Survey Completed 11/06/2013
Excellent pastrami sandwich and garden salad combo. The waitress was very helpful in recommending suggestions for lunch; plan on returning to this restaurant.

Dined 10/19/2013 Dinner $$$  Survey Completed 10/25/2013

This was our third visit here. The place and food were as awesome as before. Fast, friendly service and great value. Extendive menu from burgers and sandwiches to truly great entees. I always say, that a simple salad can say a lot about a restaurant. The Barn's was excellent - fresh with a nice mix of ingreients. I had the seafood gumbo - truly great, the best I've had outside of New Orleans (and I'll bet that you likely won't find much better there). I also highly reccomend the jambalaya - the Barn's is a truly great dish (and a unique, imaginative version).

Dined 10/20/2013 Dinner $$$  Survey Completed 10/24/2013
We were very happy we found out about this restaurant. It is a family friendly restaurant. There is lots of variety in food choices and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

Dined 11/01/2013 Lunch $$  Survey Completed 11/06/2013
Excellent pastrami sandwich and garden salad combo. The waitress was very helpful in recommending suggestions for lunch; plan on returning to this restaurant.

Dined 10/19/2013 Dinner $$$  Base Survey Completed 10/25/2013
This was our third visit here (see my review of 9/11/2013). The place and food were as awesome as before. Fast, friendly service and great value. Extendive menu from burgers and sandwiches to truly great entees. I always say, that a simple salad can say a lot about a restaurant. The Barn's was excellent - fresh with a nice mix of ingreients. I had the seafood gumbo - truly great, the best I've had outside of New Orleans (and I'll bet that you likely won't find much better there). I also highly reccomend the jambalaya - the Barn's is a truly great dish (and a unique, imaginative version).

Dined 10/20/2013 Dinner $$$  Survey Completed 10/24/2013

We were very happy we found out about this restaurant. It is a family friendly restaurant. There is lots of variety in food choices and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely return and recommend to family and friends.


Trip Advisor
“Big and boisterous”
Reviewed October 24, 2013
Don't go here if you want a small, intimate place for a quiet dinner. The Barn is a big, noisy pub with lots of dinner choices, a huge bar and good wait staff. You might have to wait for a table on a Saturday night, but it's worth your wait. Their Octoberfest specials were all well prepared and well priced. A good place for a fun evening with a big tableful of friends or family.
• Visited October 2013












Items and pricing subject to change without notice.